Exclusive Excerpts from Fritz Hofmann’s Book on Peter Hofmann

Fritz+Peter Hofmann

London- Der Freischütz

 I had just come back from the lovely English harbor town of Ramsgate in West County Kent, where I had undertaken an English language course for several months, and before I was to begin my employment with an artist agency in Paris, Peter invited me to come to London with him for several weeks.  He had been engaged to sing the role of Max in Der Freischütz there at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden. Read More in PETER HOFMANN TALES OF A  SINGER’S ADVENTURES. (#1, 2, 3 4, 5, 6)

5 thoughts on “Exclusive Excerpts from Fritz Hofmann’s Book on Peter Hofmann

  1. Peter’s presence will always be felt. He was a gentle soul who commanded an enormous amount of respect from all who knew and loved him. I am saddened to think that he is no longer with us in the flesh but will always remember his smile and humor until my days are done.

  2. For me – there are two tenors – two true heroes in the opera – Lauritz Melchior and Peter Hofmann. I do not not know what to say – Peter Hofmann was Lohengrin – for me – when he entered the stage – he did not play – he became Lohengrin. His voice – I loved it and I still do. I listen to the recordings – of my two true heroes. I do not know if we ever will have one more that comes that close to the perfect. For me – I cry when I listen. I loved that voice – I still do – I wish ……
    He is no longer with us – he now sing for the angels – I … no words …. no more words –

  3. Fritz, I first want to say that I’m so glad you have a You Tube account! I just watched the “walk-through” of Peter’s room, and it nearly had me in tears. Music is such a necessary part of life, and it was obvious how much Peter loved his craft. I can only imagine how heartbreaking it must have been for him to have to stop singing when his illness worsened. I was deeply saddened when he died. I know how it feels to lose someone you love so much, and I know that a few years has a way of rushing past so that it doesn’t seem possible that he or she been gone so long. I don’t know how much comfort the words of a stranger can really lend, but I want you to know that your brother will always be my favorite tenor and that I wish I’d had the opportunity to see (and hear!) him in person. Thank you so much for continuing to share Peter’s life with us. My deepest sympathies.

Leave a Reply

