Remembering Peter Hofmann on his 72th Birthday

bayreuth1Peter Hofmann would have been 72 years old on August 22, 2016.  To remember this remarkable artist, we have added several new photographs and well as Midou Grossman’s appreciation. READ here.

To be sure, Peter Hofmann is not forgotten, especially at Bayreuth. On August 6, 2016, Friedon Rosen in Der Neue Merker wrote of the opening of Parsifal at the Bayreuth Festival:

We have Schager! Perhaps the best Parsifal since Peter Hofmann. . .

At Bayreuth the Austrian Heldentenor Andreas Schager substituted for Klaus Florian Vogt. It was a debut filled with potential….He recalled the days f the 70s and 80s with the legendary Waltraud Meier as Kundry and Peter Hofmann as Parsifal.

 

One thought on “Remembering Peter Hofmann on his 72th Birthday

  1. Ich habe Peter Hofmann zum ersten Mal im Fernsehen der DDR gesehen und war sofort von seiner Ausstrahlung und der Magie in seiner Stimme fasziniert.

    Für mich war er ein Pfadfinder und Wegbereiter, denn er ist den klassischen Weg eines Opernsängers nie gegangen. Er ist der erste wahre Crossover. Erst durch ihn kenne Lohengrin, die Walküre und bin ein Fan vom Phantom der Oper. Peter Hofmann hat meinen musikalischen Horizont erweitert.

    Ich bediene mich gern eines Textauszugs von John Miles „Music“.

    (an Peter)
    To live without YOUR music would be impossible to do
    ´cause in the world of troubles YOUR music pulls me trough.

    Ich war am 22. September im Peter-Hofmann-Raum in Kemnath, zuvor in Wunsiedel an seinem Grab. Ich danke allen, die die Erinnerung an ihn wachhalten, die auch den Raum erst möglich gemacht haben. Wir sollten ihn niemals vergessen.

    Aber vor allem: DANKE Peter Hofmann

Leave a Reply

